Emmet County administers zoning for the townships of Bear Creek, Bliss, Carp Lake, Center, Cross Village, Friendship, Littlefield, Maple River, McKinley, Readmond, Springvale, and Wawatam.

The townships of Little Traverse, Pleasantview, Resort and West Traverse administer separate zoning ordinances as do all incorporated areas within Emmet County, which include the villages of Alanson, Mackinaw City, and Pellston, and the cities of Harbor Springs and Petoskey.

To apply for a zoning permit in a township under Emmet County zoning jurisdiction, contact staff at the Emmet County Office of Planning and Zoning (see hours and location).

To apply for a zoning permit outside of Emmet County zoning jurisdiction, contact the appropriate township, village or city.


Little Traverse Township
Little Traverse Township Zoning Administrator
William Dohm
8288 Pleasantview Road
Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone: (231) 526-0351
Website: www.harborinc.org/little-traverse-township-14/
Emmet County acts as assistant zoning administrators to Little Traverse Township. Site plan review, special use permits and zoning variances are reviewed through the Township Planning Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals. Residential permit applications are reviewed by the Emmet County Office of Planning, Zoning and Construction Resources. After plans have been approved, zoning permits are issued through Emmet County Zoning Office.

Pleasantview Township
Pleasantview Township Zoning Administrator
Ed Kuligowski
2540 S. Pleasantview Road
Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone: (231) 526-8140
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.harborinc.org/pleasantview-township-15/

Resort Township
Resort Township Zoning Administrator
Jake Myers
2232 Resort Pike Road
Petoskey, MI 49770
Phone: (231) 347-7915
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.resorttownship.org

West Traverse Township
West Traverse Township Zoning Administrator
 Jake Myers
8000 S. M-119
Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone: (231) 526-7361
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.harborinc.org/west-traverse-township-17/

Village of Alanson Zoning Administrator
Glen Pemberton
Alanson, MI 49706
Phone: 231-330-1823
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.villageofalanson.com

Mackinaw City
Village of Mackinaw City
Dean Martin
102 S Huron Avenue
Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone: 231-436-5351
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.mackinawcity.org

Village of Pellston Zoning Administrator
Randy Bricker
6301 Edgar Street
Pellston, MI 49769
Phone: (231) 838-4499
Website: www.pellstonmi.com

Harbor Springs
City of Harbor Springs Zoning Administrator
Jeff Grimm
160 Zoll Street
Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone: (231) 526-2104 (ext 122)
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.harborinc.org/city-of-harbor-springs-11/

City of Petoskey Zoning Administrator
Lisa Denoyer
101 East Lake Street
Petoskey, MI 49770
Phone: (231) 347-2500
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.petoskey.us

Emmet County, Michigan
200 Division Street, Petoskey MI 49770
(231) 348-1700 | Contact Us