Critical Dunes

Please note: The Emmet County Board of Commissioners repealed the Dune Overlay in January 2013. The Department of Environmental Quality now has jurisdiction over critical dune development.

Contact: MDEQ
Scott Rasmusson, 2100 W. M-32, Gaylord, MI  49735
(989) 313-9708 [email protected]

Critical dunes remain regulated. The maps on this page show which areas of the county have a critical dunes designation. If you are unsure whether your property is within a critical dune area, call the Planning and Zoning Department at 231.348.1735.

Critical Dune Overlay Maps

Critical Dunes interactive map at the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE) website

Bear Creek and Little Traverse Townships
Part of Bliss Township #1
Part of Bliss Township #2
Cross Village Township
Part of Wawatam Township

Emmet County, Michigan
200 Division Street, Petoskey MI 49770
(231) 348-1702 | Contact Us