Reapportionment Commission

In 2020, the U.S. Census Bureau conducted a census of the country as required by law every ten years. On August 12, 2021, members of the Emmet County Reapportionment Commission received the results of that census. With receipt of the county’s new population totals, the Reapportionment Commission met on September 10, 2021 and September 28, 2021 to review a plan for apportioning the county’s seven commissioner districts. A draft plan was approved by the commission and was presented for public hearing on Friday, October 1, 2021. With no objections to the draft plan during the Oct. 1 meeting, the commission adopted the new district map in a public meeting on Tuesday, October 5, 2021. The Reapportionment Commission will gather for an additional meeting on Tuesday, October 19, 2021 at 11 a.m., in the Board of Commissioners’ room at the county building, to finalize their process. A copy of the adopted plan is linked to below along with the new district map and the old 2020 commissioner district map (for comparison).

Commission Members

    • Suzanne Kanine – County Clerk (Chairman)
    • Jim Linderman – Prosecuting Attorney (Secretary)
    • Mary Mitchell – County Treasurer
    • Geri Szymanski – Republican Party Chair
    • Mike Hinterman – Democratic Party Chair

Meeting Minutes

     July 14, 2021 meeting
     September 2, 2021 meeting
     September 10, 2021 meeting
     September 28, 2021 meeting
     October 1, 2021 meeting
     October 5, 2021 meeting (draft)



Emmet County, Michigan
200 Division Street, Petoskey MI 49770
(231) 348-1702 | Contact Us