Committees and Boards

Emmet County is committed to excellence in its delivery of services to its residents and visitors. To help us maintain and improve upon this mission, community leaders, business owners, and residents are encouraged to consider serving on one of the various committees or boards that have been established in Emmet County. The Board of Commissioners appoints committee and board members from a pool of applicants. Openings occur on committees at various times throughout the year. If you are interested in learning more, a complete list of the committees and boards is listed below. Please feel free to submit an application at any time and it will be held and considered should an opening become available.

Commissioner Appointments

The Board of Commissioners is currently seeking to fill the committee openings listed below. If you feel you could be an asset to one of these boards or committees, please download, complete the application and turn in to the Emmet County Clerk’s Office at 200 Division St., Suite 130, Petoskey, MI 49770. The application may also be faxed to (231) 348-0602 or emailed to [email protected]. For more information, call (231) 348-1744. All applications will be kept on file for two years.


  • ••  Community Corrections Board (3 specific openings – a criminal defense attorney or local public defender; a member who is affiliated with workforce investment board; and at least one and not more than three members from service areas of mental health, public health, substance abuse, employment and training, or community alternative program)
  • ••  Planning Commission (2 openings)
  • ••  Construction Resource Committee (8 total openings: 2 – Building, 2 – Plumbing, 2 – Electrical, 2 – Mechanical)
  • ••  Blissfest Committee (1 opening)
  • ••  Airport (1 opening)
  • ••  Road Commission (1 opening)
  • ••  Historical Commission Committee (1 opening)

Liaisons to Committees

For Board of Commissioners meeting agendas and minutes, please click here.

CCE 9-1-1 Board of Directors meetings David White (Toni Drier, alternate)
Advisory Committee on Aging meetings Neil Ahrens
Area Agency on Aging of NW Michigan meetings David White
Bay Bluffs Board of Directors meetings Charlie MacInnis
Blissfest Music Festival meetings Toni Drier
Board of Canvassers meetings Commissioner representation not necessary
Brownfield Redevelopment Authority meetings Matt Koontz
David White
Commissioner Reimbursement Committee meetings Commissioner representation not necessary
Community Corrections meetings Mike Wargel
Construction Board of Appeals meetings Commissioner representation not necessary
Construction Resources Committee meetings Toni Drier
Crooked River Lock Consortium meetings Mike Wargel
Department of Public Works Board meetings Charlie MacInnis
Dave Bachelor
Fair Advisory Council   Matt Koontz
David White
Health Department Board meetings Matt Koontz
Charlie MacInnis
Historical Commission meetings Mike Wargel
Jury Commission   Commissioner representation not necessary
Land Bank Authority meetings Neil Ahrens
Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) meetings Toni Drier
Local Revenue Sharing Board – Petoskey meetings Matt Koontz
Local Revenue Sharing Board – Mackinaw City meetings Toni Drier
Networks Northwest meetings Charlie MacInnis (Regional Prosperity Board, Northwest Council of Governments)
North Country Community Mental Health Services Board meetings David White
Northern Lakes Economic Alliance meetings Neil Ahrens
Northern Michigan Counties Association meetings Neil Ahrens (David White, alternate)
Northern Michigan Regional Entity Oversight Board meetings Commissioner representation not necessary
Northwest Michigan Community Action Agency meetings David White
Paradise Lake Improvement Board   Toni Drier
Parks and Recreation Board meetings Toni Drier
Dave Bachelor
Pellston Regional Airport Committee meetings Charlie MacInnis
David White
Dave Bachelor
Planning Commission meetings Toni Drier
Charlie MacInnis
Reapportionment Commission meetings Commissioner representation not necessary
Road Commission meetings Toni Drier
David White
Straits Area Narcotics Unit (SANE)   Dave Bachelor
Sanitary Code Board of Appeals meetings Mike Wargel
Straits Regional Transportation Committee meetings Charlie MacInnis
Dave Bachelor (alternate)
Veterans Affairs Board meetings Neil Ahrens
Dave Bachelor (alternate)
Zoning Board of Appeals meetings Toni Drier

Emmet County, Michigan
200 Division Street, Petoskey MI 49770
(231) 348-1702 | Contact Us