EMS staff recognized for heroic efforts in the field; Dr. Charlton honored

A group of emergency services workers who saved the life of a baby boy born before the mom could reach the hospital received the “Golden Stork” award today, Monday, Nov. 23, from the Emmet County Ambulance Advisory Committee, presented by Dr. Thomas Charlton, who was also recognized for his contributions to emergency medical services in Emmet County.

Eight staff from various emergency operations were given the Golden Stork Award and the Life Saving Award, along with pins, in recognition of their heroic efforts to help a mom deliver her boy in October 2015 in the Alanson area. The baby was stuck in the birth canal while being born and had no pulse upon delivery. Because of the efforts of this group of EMS staff, Alanson Fire and Rescue and 9-1-1 dispatchers, the baby boy is home from the NICU and doing fine, Dr. Charlton said.

Those recognized were Brian Drayton, Alanson Fire & Rescue; Amanda Godin, ECEMS; Glen Pemberton, Alanson Fire & Rescue; Adam Peltier, ECEMS; Dave Trautman, ECEMS; Sarah Towne, ECEMS; and Chris Heckman and Lynn Spencer, 9-1-1 dispatchers. Helping present the crew with the award was Larry Hansen, ECEMS Director.

A second group of ECEMS staff was recognized for their efforts to save a cardiac arrest victim in January 2015. Due to the efforts and expertise of ECEMS staff members Chris Krupa, Brian Patton and Calvin Penfold, the 56-year-old man’s life was saved and he has since fully recovered.

In addition to recognition of these life-saving efforts, the AAC also recognized Dr. Charlton, who is moving out of the area. Charlton has served on the AAC since its creation to help establish the Emmet County EMS system. In a resolution from the Board of Commissioners, AAC chairman Larry Cassidy read:

“WHEREAS, Dr. Thomas Charlton has been a respected medical professional in Emmet County for many years, and;

WHEREAS, Dr. Charlton stepped in when asked to provide leadership from a medical control standpoint during the transition of EMS services to Emmet County, and;

WHEREAS, he reliably attended meetings of the Ambulance Advisory Committee and offered his expert guidance, and;

WHEREAS, he always provided a non-biased viewpoint and was not concerned with which entity would provide emergency medical services, but only that patient care remained the primary goal of an excellent EMS organization, and;

WHEREAS, his personal experience as a paramedic and ER physician provided the field expertise needed by the AAC as policies and procedures were established very early in the process, and;

WHEREAS, Dr. Charlton’s insight into helping strengthen the Medical First Responder (MFR) program was instrumental in creating coverage throughout the entire county and establishing Emmet County EMS.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Emmet County Board of Commissioners commends and thanks Dr. Thomas Charlton for his outstanding service to the people of Emmet County, and wishes him well in his future medical endeavors.”

The resolution had been approved by the Emmet County Board of Commissioners on Nov. 12, 2015.

In his last remarks to the AAC, Charlton complimented his colleagues and said he “immensely enjoyed” working with them. He is moving to Cincinnati where he will also work in medical control. “I’ve learned a tremendous amount from you all,” he noted.

Receiving the Golden Stork and the Life Saving awards from Dr. Thomas Charlton (left) are: (from left) Brian Drayton, Alanson Fire & Rescue; Amanda Godin, ECEMS; Glen Pemberton, Alanson Fire & Rescue; Adam Peltier, ECEMS; Dave Trautman, ECEMS; and Sarah Towne, ECEMS. Helping present the crew with the award is Larry Hansen (right), ECEMS Director. Awarded but not pictured are Chris Heckman and Lynn Spencer, 9-1-1 dispatchers.


Receiving the Life Saving Award from Dr. Charlton are Brian Patton (center) and Calvin Penfold, ECEMS. Not pictured is Chris Krupa, ECEMS.


Larry Cassidy, Emmet County Commissioner and chairman of the Ambulance Advisory Committee, presents a plaque and a resolution of recognition to Dr. Thomas Charlton, who is leaving the area.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Emmet County, Michigan
200 Division Street, Petoskey MI 49770
(231) 348-1702 | Contact Us