Educational Classes

For more information on any of the classes listed below, please contact the Sheriff’s Office
at (231) 439-8900.

Boating Safety Class
Hunters Safety Course
ORV Safety Class
Snowmobile Safety Course

Community Group Presentations:

Sheriff’s Office personnel are available to conduct community group presentations on various law enforcement related topics. The following are examples of presentations offered by the Sheriff’s Office:

  • Elderly Abuse
  • Identity Theft
  • Financial Crimes
  • Kid Safety
  • Other Law Enforcement issues upon request

Boating Safety Class:

boating safety1

  1. Boating safety classes are offered to those 12 years of age or older. The Marine Division offers two options for those who wish to obtain a Michigan Boating Safety Certificate.
    The first option is to attend a 6 hour course taught by a certified boating safety instructor. The instructional period is followed by a proctored exam. After successful completion of the exam the student is issued a Michigan Boating Safety Certificate. All scheduled classes are posted on the DNR web site; http://www.michigandnr.com/recnsearch/ . There is no charge for attending this course.
  2. You may also take Boating Safety Classes online. Click here for a link to Department of Natural Resources-approved courses.

In order to take the boater’s safety online course students must be at least 16 years old. Any students who are at least 12 years old, but less than 16 years old, are required to take a boater’s safety course in person.

The following information applies to all classes:  Please call the Emmet County Sheriff’s Office at (231) 439-8900 to register for any of the classes. Classes are free of charge. Those interested in taking the course must be at least 12 years of age. Please bring a lunch with you unless noted otherwise.


Hunter’s Safety Class:

hunter safety 1

Hunter’s Safety is offered through the Sheriff’s Office in the early Fall and Spring each year. Two Deputies who are state-certified instructors teach the three-day course. The course consists of two, four-hour classroom sessions and one, five-hour hands-on session conducted at the Harbor Springs Outdoors Club.

An online course is available to replace the two days of local classroom instruction. All those who take the online course MUST still participate in the third session at the Harbor Springs Outdoors Club to successfully receive certification. Click here for a link to Department of Natural Resources approved courses.

FALL 2016 COURSE INFO:

The Emmet County Sheriff’s Office will offer its annual Fall Hunter’s Safety Course from Sept. 20-24, 2016 AND Oct. 18-22, 2016. Dates and times are as follows:

September course

Sept. 20 – 4 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Sept. 21 – 4 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Sept. 24 – 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Locations: 
Sept. 20 and 21:
Emmet County Sheriff’s Office, Richard L. Zink Law Enforcement Center
3460 M-119
Harbor Springs, MI  49740

Sept. 24:
Harbor Springs Outdoors Club
6975 W. Robinson Road
Pellston, MI  49769

October course

Oct. 18 – 4 to 8 p.m.
Oct. 19 – 4 to 8 p.m.
Oct. 22 – 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Locations:
Oct. 18 and 19:
Emmet County Sheriff’s Office, Richard L. Zink Law Enforcement Center
3460 M-119
Harbor Springs, MI  49740

Oct. 22:
Harbor Springs Outdoors Club
6975 W. Robinson Road
Pellston, MI  49769

Info about both classes:

Cost: Free

Details: Please call (231) 439-8900 Monday through Friday, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. to register.

Students must attend all three days of the course. Students enrolled in the course must be at least 10 years old. Please bring a snack and a pencil. Maximum of 25 students.

Information: Please call (231) 439-8900 Monday through Friday, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., to register. Students must attend all three days of the course. Students enrolled in the course must be at least 10 years old. Please bring a snack and a pencil. Maximum of 25 students.

 


ORV SAFETY COURSE:

ORV safety 1

  1. ORV Safety classes are offered to those 10 years of age or older. Two options are available for those who wish to obtain an ORV Safety Certificate.
    The first option is to attend a 6 hour course taught by a certified ORV safety instructor. The instructional period is followed by a proctored exam. After successful completion of the exam the student is issued an ORV Safety Certificate. All scheduled classes are posted on the DNR web site; http://www.michigandnr.com/recnsearch/ . There is no charge for attending this course.
  2. You may also take ORV Safety Classes online. Click here for a link to Department of Natural Resources approved courses.

SEPTEMBER 2016 COURSE

Date: Sept. 17, 2016

Time: 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Location: 
Emmet County Sheriff’s Office, Richard L. Zink Law Enforcement Center
3460 M-119
Harbor Springs, MI  49740

Cost is free. You must register for this class. Please call (231) 439-8900 to register Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.  Those interested in taking the course must be at least 10 years old. Please bring a lunch and a pencil. Class size is limited to 25 students.


 SNOWMOBILE SAFETY COURSE

  1. Snowmobile Safety classes are offered to those 12 years of age or older. Two options are available for those who wish to obtain a Snowmobile Safety Certificate.
    The first option is to attend a 6 hour course taught by a certified Snowmobile safety instructor. The instructional period is followed by a proctored exam. After successful completion of the exam the student is issued a Snowmobile Safety Certificate. All scheduled classes are posted on the DNR web site; http://www.michigandnr.com/recnsearch/ . There is no charge for attending this course.
  2. You may also take Snowmobile Safety Classes online. Click here for a link to Department of Natural Resources-approved courses.

Cost is free. You must register for this class. Please call (231) 439-8900 to register Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.  Those interested in taking the course must be at least 12 years old. Please bring a lunch and a pencil. Class size is limited to 25 students.

2017 Winter Courses

Course 1

Date: Saturday, Jan. 21, 2017

Time:  9 a.m. until 3 p.m.

Location: Emmet County Sheriffs Office, 3460 M-119    Harbor Springs, MI 49740


Course 2

Date: Saturday, February 4, 2017

Time:  9 a.m. until 3 p.m.

Location: Emmet County Sheriffs Office  3460 M-119    Harbor Springs, MI 49740

snowmobile

Emmet County, Michigan
200 Division Street, Petoskey, MI 49770
231-348-1702 | Contact Us